17th IEEE
International Pulsed Power Conference

June 29 thru July 2, 2009
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel, Washington, DC

Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society

IEEE 2011

IEEE 2011

Announcing the Recipients of the 2009 IEEE NPSS PPS&T AWARDS

Congratulations to the recipients!

Please click on the highlighted text below for more detailed information and nomination forms.

The Erwin Marx Award recognizes outstanding contributions to pulsed power technology by an individual over an extended period of time. The origin of the Erwin Marx Award and the Pulsed Power Student Award began at the 3rd IEEE Pulsed Power Conference (June 1981). The Erwin Marx Award was dedicated to the memory of Professor Marx and his concept of the Cascade Impulse Voltage Generator that bears his name. Professor Marx passed away on January 11, 1980, just prior to his 87th birthday. The High Voltage Institute of the Technical University of Braunschweig, where Professor Marx conducted his research, has graciously allowed the Pulsed Power Conferences to present the Erwin Marx Award in his name. A brief review of Professor Marx's career is presented in the Proceedings of the 4th IEEE Pulsed Power Conference, Albuquerque, NM, June 6 – 8, 1983, p. 51. Marx Award Nomination Form

The Peter Haas Award recognizes outstanding contributions to pulsed power technology resulting from an individual's continued effort to develop programs of research, education, and information exchange that are the basis for progress in pulsed power. The Peter Haas Award was established at the 6th IEEE Pulsed Power Conference (June 1987) and bears the name of the late Peter Haas who was recognized at the 2nd Pulse Power Conference (1979) "for many contributions to a strong and vigorous pulsed power program through sound management, steadfast conviction, and farsighted technical acumen." Today, the Peter Haas Award honors those individuals that share Peter's dedication, leadership, and administrative vision for pulsed power. Haas Award Nomination Form

The Pulsed Power Student Award was initiated by Dr. Alan J. Toepfer to encourage student participation and to recognize outstanding student contributions to pulsed power engineering. It is given on an annualized basis with a 2008 and a 2009 winner both receiving their honor at the 2009 conference. (Note: eligibility for the student award requires that the nominee was a student in the year for which the nomination is made.) 2008 Student Award Nomination Form 2009 Student Award Nomination Form

All award winners and new IEEE Fellows will be recognized at the Conference Banquet on Wednesday evening, 1 July at the PPC2009 Conference. The Erwin Marx and Peter Haas Awards winners will each be asked to give an address during a plenary session at the Conference.