18th IEEE International Pulsed Power Conference

June 19 - 23, 2011 Hyatt Regency - McCormick Place, Chicago, Illinois

Pulsed Power ConferenceIEEE  Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society


Click on the blue and white box (below) for information to
submit award nominations.

Award Nominations

Student Paper Award

Erwin Marx Award

The Erwin Marx Award recognizes outstanding contributions to pulsed power technology by an individual over an extended period of time. The origin of the Erwin Marx Award and the Pulsed Power Student Award began at the 3rd IEEE Pulsed Power Conference (June 1981). The Erwin Marx Award was dedicated to the memory of Professor Marx and his concept of the Cascade Impulse Voltage Generator that bears his name.

Professor Marx passed away on January 11, 1980, just prior to his 87th birthday. The High Voltage Institute of the Technical University of Braunschweig, where Professor Marx conducted his research, has graciously allowed the Pulsed Power Conferences to present the Erwin Marx Award in his name. A brief review of Professor Marx's career is presented in the Proceedings of the 4th IEEE Pulsed Power Conference, Albuquerque, NM, June 6 – 8, 1983, p. 51.

Peter Haas Award

The Peter Haas Award recognizes outstanding contributions to pulsed power technology resulting from an individual's continued effort to develop programs of research, education, and information exchange that are the basis for progress in pulsed power. The Peter Haas Award was established at the 6th IEEE Pulsed Power Conference (June 1987) and bears the name of the late Peter Haas who was recognized at the 2nd Pulse Power Conference (1979) "for many contributions to a strong and vigorous pulsed power program through sound management, steadfast conviction, and farsighted technical acumen." Today, the Peter Haas Award honors those individuals that share Peter's dedication, leadership, and administrative vision for pulsed power.

Arthur H. Guenther Pulsed Power Student Award

The IEEE NPSS Pulsed Power Science and Technology Committee's Outstanding Pulsed Power Student Award was established in 1997. In 2007 this award was renamed the Arthur H. Guenther Pulsed Power Student Award following the passing of the former Peter Haas award recipient. It is offered annually, but presented biennially at the Pulsed Power Conference. This award is designed to encourage student contributions and participation as principal or sole authors of papers and to recognize outstanding student contributions in pulsed power engineering, science, or technology.